Keystone logo
Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University

Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University

Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University



Jean Moulin Lyon 3, a University open to World

Choosing Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University means access to high-quality education and research in the heart of the city of Lyon.

Jean Moulin University is a member of the University of Lyon Association (UdL), which brings together universities and institutions from the COMUE: Community of Universities and Institutions (Communauté d'Universités et d’Établissements).

With 28,000 students enrolled, Jean Moulin University offers a wide range of degrees (Bachelor's and Master's degrees and Ph.D. programs) in the fields of the humanities and social sciences. Students can choose from disciplines within our six faculties and schools. Subject areas include law, political science, francophone studies, philosophy, management, economics, business administration, languages, literature, information & communication, history and town and country planning.

The University is developing a high-level international research profile. This involves participation in international and European projects, the creation of chairs, the development of a welcoming policy for visiting professors and post-doctorate students, and a proactive policy to facilitate the mobility of researchers.

Jean Moulin University is open to the student throughout Europe and the world and has resolutely intercultural perspectives. It has numerous partnership agreements, including Saõ Paulo University, Shanghai University, University of Turin, Tongji University, Monash University and the University of California. Lyon 3 welcomes 4600 international students every year.

Students who select Jean Moulin University have the opportunity to take short or long-term customized courses taught in French (DEUF program – Programme d’Études Universitaires Françaises) or English (SELF-program, Study in English in Lyon, France).

To help non-French speakers adapt to life at Lyon 3 and in the UNESCO World Heritage City of Lyon, we propose courses in French as a foreign language and an Introduction to French culture and civilization.

One University: 3 Campuses

Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University offers a range of high-quality courses across three sites located in the center of Lyon and Bourg-en-Bresse. If you are studying in Lyon, your classes will take place at one of two campuses depending on your course selection.

  • Manufacture des Tabacs campus
  • Quais Campus
  • Bourg-en-Bresse Campus


The birth of Lyon University

In the 16th century, silk production and the printing industry both developed at the expense of learning. It would be 1839 before a chair of Commercial Law was created by the municipal council and the Chamber of Commerce. The vote on the higher education law of 10 July 1896 legally defined all faculty groupings as French Universities.

The history of universities Lyon 1, Lyon 2 and Lyon 3

Universities Lyon 1 and Lyon 2 were created in the second half of the 20th century.In 1973, Lumière Lyon 2 University was split in two. Jean Moulin Lyon 3 University was thus created, choosing Professor Henri Roland as its first Vice-chancellor.

Vice-chancellors of the University of Lyon from 1974 to 2015

  • From 1974 to 1979, Mr. Henri ROLAND, Professor of Private Law
  • From 1979 to 1987, Mr. Jacques GOUDET, Professor of Italian
  • From 1987 to 1994, Mr. Pierre VIALLE, Professor of Public Law
  • From 1994 to 1997, Mr. Henri ROLAND, Professor of Private Law
  • From 1997 to 2002, Mr. Gilles GUYOT, Professor of Management
  • From 2002 to 2007, Mr. Guy LAVOREL, Professor of Arts
  • Since 2007 to 2012, Mr. Hugues FULCHIRON, Professor of Private Law
  • Since 2012, Mr. Jacques COMBY, Profesor of Geography



  • Lyon

    6 cours Albert Thomas, 69008, Lyon


    Institution also offers: