EDEXCEL BTEC Level 5 HND in Computing and Systems Development (QCF)


2 locations available

Program Description

Pearson BTEC Level 5 HND in Computing and Systems Development (QCF)

The new BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing and Systems Development has been accredited onto the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)

The Pearson BTEC Hr National Diploma in Computing is an internationally recognised qualification and is validated, administered and verified by the Pearson BTEC. The BTEC Higher National Diploma (HND) is equivalent to the first two years of an Honours Degree programme at a British University. This qualification is designed to equip students with the knowledge, understanding and skills required for success in current and future employment in Information Technology. This qualification falls in line with the British Computer Society (BCS) and Engineering Council requirements for accreditation and exemption from the BCS examination.

Duration of course: Two years full-time study but can be taken in fast track mode.

The HNC (120 credits) comprises the first 3 mandatory units (45 credits) plus any level 4 units chosen from the specialist units 5 to 28 making up at least 75 credits.

The HND (240 credits) includes all 4 mandatory units and 175 credits worth of specialists options with a minimum of 125 credits at level 5.

Mandatory units:

1 Business Skills for e-Commerce

2 Computer Systems

3 Employability and Professional Development

4 Project Design, implementation and Evaluation

Specialist units: (level 4)

5 Emerging Technologies

6 Management in IT

7 Research Skills

8 Management of Projects

9 Systems Analysis and Design

10 Human Computer Interaction

11 Digital Media in Art and Design

12 2D, 3D and Time-based Digital Applications

13 Multimedia Design and Authoring

14 Website Design

15 Website Management

16 e-Commerce Technologies

17 Database Design Concepts

18 Procedural Programming

19 Object Oriented Programming

20 Event Driven Programming Solutions

21 Software Applications Testing

22 Office Solutions Development

23 Mathematics for Software Development

24 Networking Technologies

25 Routing Concepts

26 Design a Small or Home Office Network

27 Network Operating Systems

28 IT Support for End Users

Specialist units: (level 5)

29 e-Commerce Strategy

30 Information Systems in Organisations

31 Knowledge-based Systems

32 Quality Systems in IT

33 Data Analysis and Design

34 Data Structures and Algorithms

35 Web Applications Development

36 Internat Server Management

37 Digital Image Creation and Development

38 3D Computer Modelling and Animation

39 Computer Games Design and Development

40 Distributed Software Applications

41 Programming in Java

42 Programming in NET

43 Networking Infrastructure

44 Local Area Networking Technologies

45 Wide Area Networking Technologies

46 Network Security

47 IT Virtualisation

48 IT Security Management

49 Digital Forensics

50 Work-based Experience

Specialist units: (level 3)

51 Computer Systems Architecture

52 Spreadsheet Modelling

53 Web Server Scripting

54 Multimedia Design

Entry Qualifications

Students must normally be aged 18 years or over.

They must possess four GCSE's or their equivalent qualification including English and Maths at grade C or above, or a BTEC first Diploma, plus at least one GCE A level and a level of English language equivalent to B2 of the CEFR - 5.5 IELTS with a minimum of 5.0 in all sections. Mature students (over 21 years of age) may be exempt from some of the above requirements on grounds of experience but where English is not the first language students must provide recent certification of having reached at least IELTS 5.5 as stated above

Duration of Course

This course normally lasts 2 years but can be taken in fast track mode on one year only.

There is a rolling programme so students can apply at any time of the year and enrol on a unit by unit basis for the HNC or HND versions of the course.


The course is structured around formal classes, seminars, tutorials and individual tuition. Blended and Distance Learning methods are available for those who cannot spare the time because of work commitments.In addition, students will be expected to undertake a great deal of private study. The form of assessment is by assignment. Grades Distinction, Merit and Pass are available.

This qualification enables students to apply to UK universities for the third and final year of undergraduate degree programmes.

Read our reviews:

  • Google: https://tinyurl.com/y8paf9gg
  • Sccot: https://tinyurl.com/y9p7p6sr
  • Hotcourses: https://tinyurl.com/y9s6su7b/

Last updated Oct 2018

About the School

Qualifications are essential to gaining recognition and respect. Students from UK, EU and from all over the world want to study in London and our philosophy is to provide high standards of teaching in ... Read More

Qualifications are essential to gaining recognition and respect. Students from UK, EU and from all over the world want to study in London and our philosophy is to provide high standards of teaching in an environment that encourages academic achievement alongside personal development while experiencing the culture and life of a vibrant city. Find the right course for you and get student centred learning throughout your time at the college. Students must be 18 years or over to apply. Read less
London , UK Online + 1 More Less